ASUOP Government Appoints New Senators, Talks Tailgating Policy

ASUOP Government Appoints New Senators, Talks Tailgating Policy

ASUOP Government Will Meet Nov 7 at the UC.


The Associated Student of the University of the Pacific Senate has been hard at work this fall as evident with the successes of Homecoming. President Wyatt Bacon continues to encourage attendance of its new ASUOP Senate on the Lawn meetings; the last one held on October 10th was seen as a success. Bacon hopes to continue on November 7th with an Election Day theme inviting anyone to attend the open forum of the Senate at either the UC Lawn or the UC Ballroom.

Legislation being presented before the Senate include reworks and revisions of the new tailgating policy which aims to include food and drink to designated areas at sporting events. This initiative hopes to see more student groups involved in the athletic events, but the legislation will still need to make it up to the University administration. Also on the table are attempts of the ASUOP Government to have more transparency as the Senate Rules Committee continues to make formal changes. Allocation of  semi-annual RSO funds have concluded as well with organizations pinching pennies amid the shortcoming of student fees brought on by low freshmen enrollment.

New to the Senate were the five members selected by a closed Senate Selection Committee headed by Austin Nash, College of the Pacific’s Senator and Senator Pro Tempore. This group conducted interviews and met with potential new candidates with the candidates being appointed by unanimous vote on October 10th. The new Senators are as follows:

Brianna Williams to Senator of Multicultural Affairs; Grant Kirkpatrick to the Interfaith Senator, David Zhang as Senator of Housing and Residential Life, and Patric Iannucci assuming the role as Benerd School of Education Senator.

Continue to look out for more news on ASUOP Senate highlights and events, or attend one of the Senate on the Lawn events for what’s happening within our student government.  

About Jeremy Gottschalk

Editor-in-Chief of The Pacifican 2016-17.

The following two tabs change content below.

Jeremy Gottschalk

Editor-in-Chief of The Pacifican 2016-17.